Just another WordPress.com site

Day 24: The HB 660 Petition

Only a quick update today, as I need to hop in the car and drive up to the Capital for all day meetings.

An official sanctioned HB 660 online-petition is now active.  Click here to add your name.

I’ve gotten word from more than a few Texas homebrew clubs who are excited about doing their own versions of House Brown 660.  Can’t wait to hear about them.

Lastly, I got an email from a friend I made at GABF last year over beers: Brewer Tim Ogden of the epic Cigar City Brewing in Tampa, FL.  Cigar City recently had a battle with the City of Tampa over their tasting room and knows very well what these fights are like.  Tim offered some words of encouragement in our battle, and closed with this great line:

“I will go on record in saying I don’t like Texas’ beer laws because I can’t get any of your fine ales.  Keep up the fight, and good luck!”

Thanks Tim!

‘Til tomorrow.

3 responses

  1. Ron

    Here’s a good website to follow the status of the bill:

    http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/BillLookup/BillStages.aspx?LegSess=82R&Bill=HB660

    February 3, 2011 at 11:51 am

  2. Lee Nash

    Hi Scott-

    This is off-topic, but I first wanted to let you know that I am a supporter of hb 660, and have been successful in getting many of my friends to support it as well. Secondly, I wanted to let you know that I recently visited your brewpub last week, and had an amazing experience drinking the Hoposauras Rex. In my opinion, this is one of (if not the best) Ipa’s I have ever had the fortune of drinking, and I have had some great ones from all over the US. I posted a review of it on BA if you are interested. I look forward to the day where I can drink your beer in Houston. Thank you for all you do.

    February 3, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    • Thank you for the kind comments Lee, and thank you for your support!

      February 3, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Leave a Reply

